Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 15, 2007 - 23:50 MDT

UNWELCOME

This sort of thing is always unwelcome to me, and in this season of greening hope it is definitely so. I can meet him with equanimity when he comes around in the snowy months, he has been visiting me regularly those times and is consigned to a cage in the corner, that devilish Black Dog.

Heather and I were out doing errands yesterday, and had stopped at Wendys on our way home to feed our faces. The clouds above had been black all afternoon, but that is somewhat happenstance this time of year.

While we were eating the bottom fell out of the clouds and I could see cars slowing trying to make their way through the exploding rain and hail.

After we ate we bided out time for a while but finally decided it would keep raining like that perhaps forever, so we made a dash for the car and were totally drenched before we could get in.

It was raining for part of the evening.

This morning our newspaper (after I dried it out), told about the flooding on parts of our Interstate highways and other places around town, and told about a man being swept away by the flooding, but more tragic was the account of a Mother who was walking along, pushing her baby in a stroller in one of our city parks. There is a small creek running through the park and flash flooding swept the Mother and baby away. The walker (parts of it) was found quite abit down stream, with no trace of the baby, it is presumed drowned. The Mother survived (hopefully she does and lives as normal a life as she can).

Somehow this opened the gate to let the Black Dog in to feast on my psyche. But gnaw as he will, I shall keep him pretty well at bay and sooner I hope, he'll sniff out a more tender morsel to chew on. It will be over for me, but my prayers and thoughts go out to that dear Mother who lost her baby. For whatever the reason it happens those visits from the Black Dog are totally UNWELCOME . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008