Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 18, 2007 - 23:25 MDT

PRE-NEED

Odd how bits of learning came to me, way ahead of the time that they would have a bearing on things in my ken. Sort of like the "ring around the bathtub" they just hung there, however, they did come to use after a time.

I was a bicycle delivery boy for a company in town and often my deliveries would be out by the stockyards. I would go by the old Grant Smelter stack, a huge tall old thing, used by a gold smelter in the old days. Only thing remaining was that big old thing.

With a sixteen year old's curiosity, one day I walked my bike over to the stack and went in to look up to see what I could see. Not much did I see, but the wind was severe in there. Something new to me, it was calm outside, but very windy inside. I noticed that it came in from all sides and tearing a cigarette paper up and tossing the bits they all went up.

So that bit of info attached itself to the sides of my brain much like a barnacle, just hung there for years.

Then when I was about thirty years old I went to work for a power plant and in the process learned many things, one was the chimney effect. I still don't know exactly why, but a draft goes up a chimney and the taller the chimney the harder the draft.

Guess that is why I paid a lot of attention while working there, things like pressures, temperatures, air flow, water cycle and other things to boot.

But not all learning came to me PRE-NEED . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008