Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-02-24 - 01:35:49

on 23 february in the afternoon i took my wife out to the clinic. while she was going through labs and tests and seeing the doctor i remembered that i hadn't brought a book. no problem for me, i did my sneaky, peeky on people so that they weren't embarassed by scrutiny. it is very easy for me to go into a semi trance while i dream up stories to fit the people i see while there. it is a given that anyone there either is sick or has a relative or friend there seeing the doc. this elderly lady with a young three year old boy shows her love and her gentle control over the lad, still, her obvious concern over something more serious shows. after a long wait a man about her age comes out and up to her and the boy. there are smiles and they leave in what appears to be a very happy mood. so the man must have received good news from the doctor. and my mind conjures up a story of a grandmother left with a son's or daughters boy to raise. in my mind it is easy, "the boys dad was crushed by machinery at his job. his wife was long gone, so it fell to the grandparents to raise yet another boy. they were worried when they went to the clinic that the condition under treatment would require he should quit his job and the insurance money from their son's death wouldn't be enough." i could go on from there and fill out the bare bones with names, occupations, why the wife left the son. there are many variables which would make an interesting story - - - to me at least. as a devoted people watcher from a very young age, the manner of people, facial expressions, posture, hands, all have a story and it is fun for me to invent a story that fits with what i see. from having a bad back for years i can recognize the posture and the gait of someone who has back problems. the hands rough or smooth ? the clothes they are wearing. and into my fantasy i bring in their extended family and friends and build a world which might be similar to theirs. interesting events for them. worries and cares, celebrations. possibilities are endless................... the wife got some new medications and instructions and things have eased off for her tonight and it looks like she might get a nights sleep with out pain. i will let her sleep as long as she needs to, she needs the rest, decidedly. it almost brings me to tears that the lady who so lovingly spent around a year doing everything but breathe for me after the accident - - would be so polite, graceful even when in pain to say, "please, when you get time could i have (or would you get me) this that or the other. wow, there is NO new model in this man's future. i am hers and am thrilled that she puts with my crabby self. no deals will be considered. so, basty, say goodnight. g'night

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008