Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 28, 2007 - 22:31 MDT

GREEN TRIP

This is the time of year that I like to head north to Greeley, Colorado to visit our daughter who lives in an assisted living facility there.

In May there is a bonus for us, the land is once more alive after a cold winter. The mood is muchly improved for Heather and I to see the evidence of Mother Nature doing her thing.

Along the way there are a few fields that have not been planted, I expect those are ones where the irrigation water was pumped from wells. Seems like water rights of Platte River water users were being at risk and wells were shut down.

We had a super fine visit with our daughter, which included a check at the local movie palace to see what was showing and neither lady desiring to see anything showing, instead a trip to the ARC Store there in Greeley was made. I went in with the ladies, saw many things I would like to have, especially that today only most everything was half off. But for me, it was not to be. What I saw that I liked there was no room for at home. The ladies continued shopping while I settled for a crossword in the VUE, turning on the AC when it got a bit warm.

Then a trip to McDonalds (our daughters favorite place) where we had a meal. Daughter has not speech, but communicates in many ways and a visit with her is enjoyable for Heather and I.

I enjoyed the green land going up, and the view of the mountains. They are quite visible all the way up, Longs Peak standing out like a finger pointed skyward. But especially nice was the trip back Denver-ward as the mountains had become shifting blues.

It is nice to see our mountains from the plain in the morning, all green and pretty with light reflected from the many windows facing east from on high. But the late afternoon with the million hues of blue inviting me to go deep into their mystery is a come on hard to resist.

But lacking a shelter and blanket we opted to come home, but oh, we did so enjoy our lovely GREEN TRIP . . . . . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008