Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 29, 2007 - 21:08 MDT

NEW - IN THE AGO

My aware time seemed to begin around Christmas time, when Dad held me in his arms so that I could admire the lit candles on the Christmas tree at home. I noticed the fallen leaves and the cold too, but it was a new world to me, all the way round.

So winter was with us and cold and snow, smoking chimneys showing life going on in other abodes.

And then the glory that is Spring was upon us, all new to me. Seeing things sprout up and grass again turn green, bushes and fruit trees bloom, and the warm breath of nature brushed my cheeks. Rain I saw, frequently, feeding the growing things and making puddles wherein I could play.

One day though, the sky grew black as night, the rain poured down, and marble sized hail thundered on the ground, beating the green plants down to almost nothing. After the storm had passed there were small drifts of hailstones about, I just had to go out and grab a handful to see the makeup of them. They of course, were icy cold, milky white. But the havoc they caused did for the flowers that year. Dad didn't try to replant that season.

Lessons came hard to young tads like me, young people whose hearts leaped with joy to see flowers and bushes bloom.

I think that is when I lost all desire to become a farmer when I grew up.

The weapon of the skies, hail was to me NEW - IN THE AGO . . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008