Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 03, 2007 - 20:18 MDT

FINALLY ?

Bumbling along my way today a memory came to me of days long gone.

Second or third grade and Valentine's day came round.

There was a big fancy box on Teacher's desk, wherein we placed Valentines to be given others - their names neatly (at least as neatly as most of us could write) and the flap sealed.

There had been days of excitement and anticipation, much use of scissors, paste and colored paper. We got hands on experience of "coloring within the lines" and cutting precisely and were constantly warned to "not eat the paste." Along with all that flurry, the anticipation built.

I guess I was a "normal" boy, if a compassionate definition of normal is used. Most all of my friends were boys, there were several girls which I longed to be "their boyfriend." Most of them didn't have the slightest clue of my feelings.

I would attend class that day, neatly dressed, hair combed and on my best behavior. And after the teacher had gone through the ritual of preparation for the event, she would begin to hand out the Valentines. Some kids got more, but we all got some. We boys didn't give Valentines to each other. But it seemed that I got a slew of Valentines from "secret admirers."

I have never heard a teacher or retired teacher admit to putting Valentines in the box that they had originated and signed "A Secret Admirer." But thinking back, I know that I did not have that many "Secret Admirers" or at least am reasonably sure.

Could it be that silently and secretly our teachers made sure that each of us got a bunch of valentines ? If so, God Bless Them, some of us boys really needed the boost. Have I arrived at the proper conclusion ? FINALLY ? . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008