Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 05, 2007 - 22:35 MDT

SCHEDULING

Being a member of a working family, most family events of ours were on days when everyone could be off work for the event. Usually a Saturday or a Sunday. And due to work schedules, some came early and left early, some came late and left late and some who were on shift couldn't come at all. That was life as she is lived.

Our oldest son has always been a problem since he grew up, when it comes to birthday celebrations. Usually he manages to be out of town on his birthday or the time surrounding it. Last year, for instance, he was on the Gulf Coast helping to rebuild housing.

But this year, fate cornered him and in town he was and is.

So his daughter is in from Wyoming with her three kids, his son lives in town and the affair was late enough that he was off work tonight, our daughter and her hubby are retired as well as us grandmas and grandpas. So we had a party to attend at his house.

Doug III was born on June 5, 1944, meaning he is now 63 years old. But surrounded by five grandchildren, two children and loving old folks he had a good time. Much like our departed Rob, Doug III worships his grandkids and manages to teach them some good ways to look at things.

Wondering why I get so sweet and sticky over birthday observances in our family ? When I was a kid my family consisted of Mom, Dad and an absent Grandmother, three girl cousins, one boy cousin, children of a woman who disliked my Mom, so our visits were few and far between.

When I married my gain was a set of brothers and sisters who took me in as one of them. Our children when they came were feted on their birthdays as well as we could afford. And things grew as time went on.

Marriage taught me what family really means and I think it was learned well.

Today was a special treat for me, as the whole shebang was able to get together at the same time.

There are pictures on my Xanga site

http://www.xanga.com/riddiger

for this date. Havent learned to resize pics for Diaryland yet. Still trying.

But, just thinking' today was a miracle of family event SCHEDULING . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008