Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 09, 2007 - 19:28 MDT

THINGS OF BEAUTY

I remember walking down our alley and at the back of most yards was a row of Hollyhocks, seems as if there were many different colors of them. I liked them they were so pretty. I remember too many of the little girls of our neighborhood making play dollies out of them.

Bachelor�s buttons, a flower that even I could grow. Made my chest pop out when they finally came up.

Cosmos, such a delicate bloom on stems so slender were seen on my rounds. Mom had Sweet Williams, oh they smelled so nice.

One year Dad raised Dahlias, such big blooms they were. Bridal Wreath at the side of our yard, in front of the Pie Cherry Tree, from my early memory.

Always Phlox and Bluebells. I remember Dad bringing Bluebells from out house out south and planting them at the new house - - - eventually they took over the whole bed, much like the Lily of the Valley did in the bed along the garage.

The trumpet vine, that orange glory that grew alongside our house in south Denver was a joy for me to behold. Dad took a cutting and planted it at our new house and it grew by leaps and bounds.

When we moved to East Denver Dad planted roses, he had many different kinds, all beauties. He taught me to cut back to the first five leaved sprig when taking a bloom so there would be more blooms that season.

He planted Marigolds at the side in the front yard, they took over that bed. He had one gorgeous Chrysanthemum plant that he taught me to deadhead to keep it blooming and oh, did it ever work.

City Park in Denver had the most gorgeous trees and shrubs and such a wonderful rose garden there.

So, I came along with appreciation for growing, blooming things. Knowing in my very soul they were THINGS OF BEAUTY . . . . . .

7 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008