Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 14, 2007 - 20:02 MDT

SUMMER DAZE

Around this time of year with the weather warming is when several of us would head out on our bikes, down across the river and into the countryside and to a slow flowing creek, wide in spots. A place where one could be in the sun if it was wished, or in the shade if the desire was so.

What a joy it was to do nothing in great bunches in a company of our kind. To idly watch the metallic dragon flies weave their way back and forth and watch the waterwalkers skate the mirrored water.

To listen to some flying bug or another that flew with a snapping sound, and the lowing of cows in a pasture near accompanied with their clunking bells.. And to watch those marvels of aerodynamics the Magpie float back and forth across the scenery.

There was something restorative and refreshing even to this young lad to spend such a day in the countryside. A feeling of having been in real life rather than a social construct of city streets.

Those were the days my friend, and they did end I guess. Kids nowadays have their schedules full and their parents arrange play dates for them. Strictly scheduled, time bound, sometimes I wonder if the kids on a play date are lined up and given the order, �On the count of three, go thou and PLAY !�

The thought of being under grown up eyes every minute of a PLAY DATE makes me shrivel to think of it.

Being on our own and being trusted to take care of ourselves and not being under surveillance all the time was paradise to us. I wonder if the kids nowadays know what they are missing ?

Although I was fascinated with typewriters and strove to master touch typing, the though of being confined indoors on a nice summer�s day and actually typing something right then - - heh !

Oh, would that I could go all the way back to those SUMMER DAZE . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008