Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 17, 2007 - 21:15 MDT

ALL THIS AND BLISS

Father�s Day became one of my very favorite days, the first time I celebrated one after becoming a father myself. Guess it was a �ME� sort of a thing, but I plead guilty to my bias.

And after celebrating the 63 in a row, I like it better yet.

Our Denver family came by, oldest son with his mate and middle daughter with hers and visited via telephone with our Oregon daughter.

I guess it went in the traditional manner, at least it was for me.

It was very hot today, topped out at 97 degrees � 94 would have broken the record, but 97 shattered it. We had fans running as well as the swamp cooler so it was pleasant inside. We got easy in the living room, caught each other up on what is going on in the present and of course, much like our gatherings the past was relived as we remembered things of our earlier years.

Cards and presents were opened by me, happily of course.

After a long bit or rag chewing our tastes led us to the dining room to chew on goodies and slurp coffee and soft drinks. The jabber and teasing continued as well.

Earlier on our son-in-law assembled a small propane barbecue affair that Heather got at Wal-Mart, and tested it too.

My presents were great, nothing hugely expensive, but much to may tastes. Crossword puzzle books, butterscotch hard candies and a book. Heather has a long memory, there is a book I asked her to get for me a long time ago and it made its appearance today. It is, �Historic Photos Of Denver� by Myron Vallier ISBN: 1-59652-319-0. I had a hard time waiting to open that one.

Our Oregon daughter sent me a Father�s Day card which is a copy of a colored Japanese print, a beautiful thing of a curving shore, geese in flight, boats at anchor among her gifts.

And now I have a printer given me by family, so that if my old one is kaput, there is a new one on deck and if the old one gets fixed I can turn the new one in and get a refund. The kids gave me more than enough to pay for it. So now when my guru visits perhaps I will be in business scanning and printing once again.

After the cleanup, trash out and such, I sat me down with my beloved new book and went back to things that were familiar from my childhood, I know you can�t go back, but I do in memories.

So it was a day of ALL THIS AND BLISS . . . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008