Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-03-31 - 17:30 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Yo-Yo

Floating around in my mind today is a fact that seems to be true for me. I think my life must be lived as a yo-yo. If everything went along smoothly, what would I have to think about in my pages, or elsewhere ? The fact that I am a depressive tends to put life in a straight line - grit your teeth and put on foot in another, in a way. Even with medication, I would really like a touch of the manic in my make up. Not enough to endanger myself or others, just a bit of the fizzing, bubbling stuff. To make life like a ride in a boat, the surface is not all smooth usually as the surging waves give novelty to every moment. Serenity is okay if enough jazz is put into it to make it interesting. So is my manic there already, popping out now and then ?

Heather left for Disneyland Tuesday and returned today, Saturday. First thing she said was, "Now I know why you felt that you going to Disneyland was out of the question." I am limited by distance and time, unfortunately. The affirmation by Heather of my attitude was gratefully heard by me. She admitted that she even had a hard time keeping up with them. Heather is tired, but enjoyed her short stay with daughter and her kids, left in good health and returned the same way. This is, I think the ideal time of the young one's lives to go to Disneyland. Heather says they all had a blast the whole time. They went to Universal Studios and enjoyed that too. Also to the Getty Museum, I envy them for that.

Spring break for the kids and their Mom and Dad is what the doctor ordered for all. On their way down from Eugene they visited friends who were in UCSB Graduate Program at the same time as the Mister was doing his PhD and the daughter was doing her Masters, and on the way back up to Eugene will visit them at Santa Barbra again. The kids enjoy being with the friends there too.

That was the upside of the yo-yo. The down side this time was my failure to master sufficient html knowledge to get my notify list and guest book back on my site after putting in the "next - previous" option. Putting that feature in made those two drop out. I thought it would be a simple thing to type the html snippets -- didn't work that way. Spent a bit of the time Heather was gone with my lower lip stuck out in a pout while doing the necessary acts of survival and trying time after time to get the trailer hung back on the wagon.

Another upswing for me was the recent trip to Tampa to visit an old friend who lived next door to us when we were raising kids. The visit with her was great, but Tampa is not the city I left 40 years or so ago. It was grand though.

So, if the ups balance the downs I guess my life is a good Yo-Yo . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008