Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 20, 2007 - 20:22 MDT

BIG BILL REVISITED

Through the years I occasionally think of Big Bill, it has been years and years since we two talked. We were so very close back then.

Being an only child and both Mom and Dad had to work, about the time I could navigate and rebelled against the foul mouthed lady across the alley who took care of me after school, I became a latch key kid before the term was invented I guess.

Up to then I had begged for a brother or sister, or more. But it was not to be, the reason for that left this world with my parents.

Early on in school, I took matters in my own hands and got me one of my own. And seeing I was the chooser and instigator, I got me a BIG brother.

We two teamed up, he knew me and I knew him. But he was older and wiser, and if not for his counseling I would have been in hot water much more often.

But a good part of the time it was just Big Bill and me. I was Little Bill and enjoyed his company. He accompanied me, oft reluctantly on my wild adventures, giving me good advice along the way, and it was he who taught me to hold my temper as well.

Strangely, he grew with me, but being almost grown to begin with I soon got tall enough to look him in the eye. But the wise leadership remained with him.

Thinking back I guess it was when he couldn�t give me any good advice in the matter of getting along with girls nor explaining the strange urges I was having, that we began to ? fade ?

Oh, we met and had long coversations frequently, but about other things. He was after all, my very own Big Brother, who I had brought into my world to begin with and one doesn�t part with family easily.

But life accelerated faster than I could keep up with it, I scurried around I did.

But the more I did the faster life went. I fell deeply in love, several times - - - or more, grieved and recovered after each falling out.

One day in high school, walking home, I turned to talk to him, and he wasn�t there. And he never came back again. But I do hope that in the background Big Bill has had a happy life and that we shall meet once again, maybe at the crossing. He was the only brother I ever truly had when I was little and I miss his companionship - even though I am a married great grandfather, Big Bill was a big part of my life, back then.

Perhaps some day it shall happen that the event shall come to pass that a sign will point the way to BIG BILL REVISITED . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008