Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 21, 2007 - 20:07 MDT

BON VOYAGE

Being an old married man and having traveled on my job quite a bit it would seem that perhaps I should be a bit blase about Heather going to Oregon for nine or ten days to pay a birthday visit to our baby daughter, who passed her 44th on the 18th.

Though none of us really knows if any of us will wake up tomorrow, nor who will be gone when the alarm rings, still it is on trepidation�s step I stand. Too many �what ifs� ring old folks about, or perhaps the quantity is the same for the young, just that the shoe overhead seems to hang more loosely over us old ones.

The fridge is stocked with things we built together, salads of many kinds, and in the freezer TV dinners galore. Of course I still have Ramen in reserve as well. We have a good microwave and I know how to use it, and know enough to not leave the water running, nor the stove on all night. I�ll be okay.

But in spite of all Heather has done to ensure that things will be okay for me, she is concerned that this old fool will goof or get sick. Can�t talk her out of it in any way. Goes with the game I guess.

And I ? Once I know that she is at daughter�s house safely, I shan�t worry - - except when it is time for her bird to take off for Denver, this day and age, who doesn�t worry a bit ?

The trip will do her good and warm my heart that she is with Baby Boo

The grands are on vacation and Cyrano the mini-Poodle will welcome her as well. Heather and I have had no pets since Baby Boo got married, but we both have bonded with Cyrano and lavish on him the affection that a person has for a pet. Where we live pets are not allowed, and I doubt that we could give one the exercise it would require, nor could we afford vet visits which are very expensive now � we could not stand to see a pet suffer, so it is better that we don�t have one.

And the world wends its weary way . . . . �A federal appeals court orders Guantanamo data released.� And �Bush keeps secret most of CIA interrogation rules.�

It�ll be interesting to see what the government does about Guantanamo, and CIA interrogation rules � so what�s new ?

And the world will keep turning as well, however, I shall miss my lady no end, BON VOYAGE . . . . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008