Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 23, 2007 - 16:12 MDT

YOU KNOW WHEN

After Heather went to DIA yesterday, I laid down for a nap. Woke up to realize she hadn't called, knowing that if anything bad had happened someone would have given me a call. But that didn't help me all that much. I seem to have to hear from her that she is okay.

Grandson called late last night right after they picked her up in Portland and said she was okay.

Seems as if her bird was tied to the ramp until a mechanical difficulty had been corrected, over three hours later they taxied. Passengers were supplied with water - - - heh, wonder if the restroom was available ? I would have been in deep trouble if I had been along.

Anyway, after receiving that call, I flopped back into bed, slept the night through and more, still a bit groggy when it is after four.

It was a rough week helping her get ready, both of us making doctors visits, picking up prescriptions and me helping her build salads and stuff, as well as Heather loading the freezer with TV dinners.

She left me with strict instructions to follow. But I won't stay housebound, I shall go out for coffee a time or six, visit the P.O. Box and go to the nearby park for a bit of exercise. But will limit myself to more commonsense activities than I hold myself to when she could come to my aid. Isn't that what a guy is supposed to do ?

She will call me again on her cell phone tonight at 9PM my time and I have to call our Denver daughter at 5PM each night as well. Maybe I'd better rent an ankle transmitter and them tracking devices to make sure that I don't wander into trouble ? Ah, well, it does give me a secure and loved feeling nevertheless.

But as the years roll along, and family keep track, you're getting old YOU KNOW WHEN . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008