Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 01, 2007 - 21:37 MDT

COUNTING YEARS

Often my memory tells me, "It was only yesterday." Not so when I check.

I ran on to my passport just now as well as a picture. In 1968 I was in Viet Nam on base at Ben Hoa with the advisory group as a tech rep on the Skyraider escape system. Thirty-nine years ago, but it seems to me as if it was yesterday. Until I realize that there is no way I can do now the things I did then.

I bought a bicycle from a returning service man and I would ride the perimeter of the base every day. Oh, it was such fun, but no way could I do it today.

My quarters were with the advisory group for the Wing that had the Skyraiders. The structures around Bien Hoa were in a great part built by the French, only the recent ones by our folks. Much scenery there, but some practicality also.

The main structure where I stayed was French built, but the rest of the buildings were GI for sure.

A picture here of where I stayed:

They called them "Hooches" the one I stayed in held four men. The windows were open screen work and had flaps that could be lowered to be shut in downpours. It rained while I was there, but never enough to need to close the flaps.

I guess it is only when one holds the memories up against a calendar that the difference shows when COUNTING YEARS . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008