Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 04, 2007 - 17:05 MDT

N.E.I.

A reply to my last night's entry, from a dear friend who is much more knowledgeable than I. Which also points up a problem he is having with my comments section, wonder how many folks are having the same one ?

Quote

Yet again Diaryland is refusing to post my comment,telling me that I am a spammer. I don't know why, but this seems to happen at least one out of every two or three times I try to leave a comment. My comment would have been:

In most cases home insurance policies in areas that are potential flood zones specifically exclude storm-caused flood damage.

(I think the claim in this case is that it wasn't the storm that caused the flood, it was the failure of the levee, so therefore the insurance companies should pay.) That is what led to federal flood insurance. If someone in a flood zone wants flood protection coverage, they need to buy federal flood insurance. Of course, the premiums do not come close to meeting the actual cost of paying claims; the rest of the cost comes from taxpayers. Yes, so that means you and I pay for all of those idiots (including all the fat cats with their million dollar vacation homes) who built in known flood areas and then get flooded. (Hmmm, maybe they weren't that dumb after all -- it's the people who keep voting for a corrupt Congress that keeps voting for these ridiculous programs.) Regards,

Unquote

And so I sounded off having N.E.I. (not enough information) not the first time either.

Not considering the fat cats though, our costal areas have been settled since colonial times and the population didn't and doesn't consist of all "fat cats," a great many folks living there are in what Thoreau once said, "The common man lives a life of common desperation," or some such words. I think many folks there were and are in that catagory, and were hard put to buy any kind of insurance.

And in those coastal areas are our major seaports and many refineries as well. So, should our government sweep all humanity from the coastal areas, move the ports to Kansas City right next to all the refineries relocated there ? ? ? ? ? ?

Right now Federal Flood Insurance is about the only thing to be had, and I would guess that if it was affordable more folks would have had it.

I do however, agree with Jim that there have been abuses of the Federal Fund - - - - but in any event in any part of our country "fat cats" take grave advantages of the system - - always.

Perhaps next time I sound off it won't be a case of N.E.I. . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008