Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-03 - 18:53 MDST

THE WONDERING JEW

FLIP-FLOP

Painful pleasure or pleasurable pain ?

I had the great pleasure today of going two places with Heather wherein the things I had to do were miniscule and the time spent at each place protracted, and so escaped to a viewing spot and did one of my favorite things. People Watching. I marvel at the shapes, actions, projected personalities that God gave to us humans. The end result of course is what we did to what was given us.

So, there I sit, silently and covertly surveying the scene before me. By people's stride, speed, look on their faces, apparent condition of their bodies, and the amount and kind of clothing they wear much can be deduced I think.

As long as I don't try to do a Sherlock Holmes. That would be a ridiculous impossibility for me to even dream of accomplishing.

Here comes a man, apparently of middle-age, nattily dressed, carrying a laptop. His step is vigorous and athletic, bouncy, enthusiastic. Well groomed, observant of all about him. Appears to be happy with his condition and life in general. How many stories could I dream up about him as he passes ? Perhaps he is on his way to a rendezvous with one not his wife ? Maybe he is on the way home to take his wife out to dinner while one of the grandmas takes care of the kids. Or is he going to see his dear mother to take her out to dinner ?

The road can fork there. One fork, they can be broadsided by a car.

The road forks again. They could be both killed.

Another fork yet. He could be killed.

Fork, she could be killled.

Fork. The people in the other car could be: any number of things. As many forks in the story as drops of water in the ocean .

The infinite possibilities are mind boggling.

Here comes an older couple with a girl about ten years old. Both the elders obviously careworn and neatly dressed in respectable clothes, the girl smiling, laughing talking to the pair. What are the unfathomable possibilities there ?

But I only have part of the day to watch the changing scene, and build an imaginary life for each person I see.

For each person I see, an imaginary tale could be built, sad, glad, adventurous, boring, tragic and many other combinations thereof.

Those times I am like a child at Christmas time, standing in front of a department store window where an animated, brightly lit Christmas scene is going full speed ahead. Looking with wonder at all the things going, all at once.

Entranced I sit here now, looking at all the things (people) going at once.

Geez, I go nuts at a crowded airport. Even if I was Janus it would be impossible for me to mentally record all things seen. And especially, what was going on each side of me, as I couldn't see at each side while simultaneously keeping track ahead and behind.

I retreat into the back room of my mind, sit in my brain's easy chair, figuratively put my feet up and try to figure the many forks in the road of my life. Wondering what would have happened if I had chosen the other fork a million different times.

It is relatively easy for me to understand the things I would have missed by taking other courses at the forks. But the possibilities of what could have happened are completely unfathomable if I had taken another course. Too many forks ahead to even make a guess.

If the events could be completely stopped, then time reversed for me, would I choose to take the same forks ? Who knows ?

So, the running finished, we came home, unloaded our purchases, put them away. Tried to catch our breath while wondering whatever had become of the day and our plans for the rest of it. Being a bit sad and planning for the next day.

I guess maybe you could call me one of those computer thingys - - a Flip-Flop . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008