Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 22, 2007 - 21:57 MDT

'TIL IT RETURNED

Over ten years ago I lost my hearing aid in our accident in Wyoming. Along with doing physical therapy for a broken neck I wore a series of loaners, which helped but not much.

As soon as we could I bought another one to replace the one I had, not different -- just new.

It helped greatly but I still coped with problems I always had before, feedback squeals and such. After ten years of use I felt I wasn't getting the full benefit that was possible, but felt there was little I could do about it.

One of the disadvantages was that I could not hear on our telephone, had to take my hearing aid out to hear. One day recently when the day was a jumble anyhow, Heather handed me the phone and said I had to talk to someone. Grabbed the phone, took the hearing aid out so I could hear the man. That is the last I saw of it.

Heather and I both turned everything upside down looking for it, went through the trash thoroughly before we put it out for collection. And still we look for it.

But after much deliberation we decided to get me a new hearing aid and of course the price has risen over the ten year period, but I desperately needed a new one.

The man at the place I got my other hearing aids from loaned me one and made a temporary ear mold for it. I got good use out of it, but it was an old model and had its disadvantages. But it got me through.

So after hearing tests, a new ear mold was made and a hearing aid ordered, that was about two weeks ago and today we went in and I was fitted.

On our rounds in our car I was able to hold conversation with Heather, something I hadn't been able to do for years, when we got home noises I used to be accustomed to appeared as well. And tonight when I went outside I heard the blessed sound of crickets chirping. Which I hadn't been able to hear since I first started wearing aids. So it is a blessing for sure, I look forward to our next family gathering to see if I can hear better in a mixed crowd. And a while ago I tried our phone and got a quite readable dial tone, after this entry I am going to try to call one of our family to see if it is usable for me to talk and the phone without having to take my hearing aid out.

Funny, I didn't realize all I had lost 'TIL IT RETURNED . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

177 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008