Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 30, 2007 - 22:52 MDT

AND THERE WE WENT

And maybe next time will be some pictures of it as well as the other place.

We did go afterward to the world famed Red Rocks Amphtheater, built by the CCC and improved upon over the years until it is an amazing place to be.

The Red Rocks area has Garden Of The Gods beat as far as I am concerned and quite closer to home for us.

It was amazing the first time I went there before all the roads and paths were put in, the ampitheater was rows on rows of benches in arcs leading down to a fantastic stage, in between Ship Rock and one almost as big on the other side. Early on I shivered through an Easter Sunrise service which has become a tradition there. Wonderfully inspiring this event is. I have been to a few and possibly will go again, God willing.

I guess the Beatles made an appearance there once and many groups have made the stage there.

There has been quite a bit of infrastructure improvement over the years, there is now an elevator going down to the restaurant which has eating tables outdoors as well with a majestic view to the south. There is an interactive museum there as well.

So Heather and I had lunch there, enjoying the air and scenery, it was somewhat of a bummer that the smog had come up from town and made things seem to be seen through a glass darkly -- but our memory filled in the details.

I was unhappy that my camera batteries had run out and my replacements were uncharged also -- what a dummy me. But I wouldn't have been happy at all with the pictures taken under smoggytude.

We shall visit again this year, there is no fee to get in (other than when events are staged there) and the food was good and quite reasonable as well, service excellent.

We had talked about going - - - - AND THERE WE WENT . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008