Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 31, 2007 - 22:08 MDT

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT DAY

The nights have not significantly cooled yet, but the kids are back in school for the fall winter term. Our freedom to roam in our beloved countryside shall be hampered, more now that we are older. C�est la guerre, or for that matter human life in all its infinite aspects.

Heather and I have been making fall winter plans, trying to decide which malls to go for exercise walking, which is about all I can handle. Using my walker and going as far as I can, then sitting on its seat for a rest now and then.

There are a few malls left still, and some fairly nearby. But they seem to be disappearing as time changes. There are groupings of businesses close together, but with their own parking lots. One can�t easily walk from one to the other anymore.

Maybe inline skates or a skate board would serve, but those are frowned on in business establishments.

I have become rather spoiled this summer with frequent trips to Prospect Park (between where we live and Golden), beside Clear Creek which is pretty opaque by the time it reaches down here. It is clear at Silver Plume though and manages to still be cold when it reaches the flatlands.

Prospect Park has been many things through the years, gold dredges once worked the area, later sandpits served the construction trade, but eventually the Counties bought property on each side of the creek and there are paths on each side of it at Prospect. Natural growth has been encouraged and there are, here and there, thickets of dead wood. Ducks float down the stream now and then, looking like they enjoy the ride.

Ah well, the cold doth come and I shall navigate the malls and Heather will probably walk with me until something catches her eye and her shopping skills are brought into play. Far be it from me to complain, as many times I am the beneficiary of her shopping. I shall just go on and swing by a time or two until she rejoins me.

I plan to enjoy the fall and winter, ignoring the cold weather as much as possible, the thrill of chill has grown old and boring for me. I loved to ice skate and once enjoyed skiing, but those days are behind me.

So we sort of fell back five, huddled and planned our winter schedule, as near as we could and along with it performed our annual ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT DAY . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008