Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 12, 2007 - 21:44 MDT

BALL BEARINGS

Funny how one can accept bodily ailments when it happens to one�s own person, but are hard to accept when it affects a person�s loved family. Thus it is with me, I would much rather go through all the pain that any of my family suffers rather than see them have to put up with such things.

Our oldest son Doug III has been having problems with his knees and hips for a long time. Some years ago he had an artificial joint put in one of his hips. Which worked well but only solved one fouth of the problem.

Due to the fact that those joints don�t last forever, he put further surgery out of mind as long as he could. But seeing him grit his teeth at every step, I wondered how long he could hold out and if he would cause more serious problems by delay of surgery.

The surgery itself is sort of a hairy deal, entailing among other things separating the joint, sawing off the ball joint and affixing the metal ball joint to the leg bone.

Now of course he will be in for a bunch of physical therapy as he recovers, his therapist to be was there today which we felt was good.

Of course he is much like his mother, medication of any kind affects him more than the average person and the side effects are not pleasant, I have seen his mother suffer the same things. So I wonder how the next few days will go for him, I can only pray.

And then down the line after full recovery and physical therapy has been completed, comes the consideration of knee replacement therapy on both knees. He has been bone on bone for a number of years. Which will bring on more pain and physical therapy afterwards and as far as I am concerned physical therapy for the most part is painful and exhausting.

It has constantly amazed me that he forced himself to to the physical activity he did as painful as things were for him. He is our beloved son and more of a man than I will ever be. Our bionic son will be running now on BALL BEARINGS . . . . . . . . . . .

6 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008