Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 13, 2007 - 19:38 MDT

BITTERSWEET DAY

Today, early afternoon we had lunch with my cousin. He is a few months older than I and has his own struggles health wise. We went to Applebee's and ate and visited, Heather taking part in visiting as well. We passed a pleasant time, lingered over coffee and such while visiting up a storm.

Not too long ago he had surgery and remarked that his exercise walk was now about a city block - out and back. Worries me, but he is doing the best he can, just that I hate to think of him hampered that way. I do so hope that he is able to build more endurance and energy as time goes on. He and I visited with each other after we took him back home from Applebee's while Heather went for a perm. Each time we visit one or the other of us remembers a pleasurable event from our past that allows for much conversation. Our visit was good, and hope to see him more often in the future.

When Heather came back from her perm we left to go see our son who had hip surgery yesterday. Found him in his room surrounded by family, his mate, his son and the two grandkids he brought up to see their grandpa.

We were fortunate that that many people were allowed in his room, but we all found a place to sit, with son's grandchildren flanking him on his bed. A very pleasant time was had by all.

He came through his surgery without too much pain, went down to physical therapy again today. Physical therapy will continue for a long time and probably when he gets the procedure down pat they will let him do it on his own --- that's the way they did with me after the accident.

We pray that he makes a rapid and successful recovery and is able to have his artifical knees installed, one by one. A daunting schedule to say the least, which will also requre physical therapy.

He passed a relatively pain free night last night and was scarfing down a meal that would daunt me, all tasty food - but man the quantity.

So, today we had a wonderful time with our son at the hospital and cousin and I, two old crocks enjoyed our several hour visit. So, all in all one might say it was on the order of a BITTERSWEET DAY . . . . . . . . . .

3 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008