Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-08 - 14:08 MDST

THE WONDERING JEW

JOA

I sit amid a welter of newsprint.

Our two Denver newspapers have agreed to combine some of their business operations under a Joint Operating Agreement. Apparently the Rocky Mountain News had overextended itself on buying state of the art equipment and the Denver Post was struggling along with its worn out stuff. Both apparently not doing too well financially.

Historically the Rocky Mountain News is the oldest I guess, but the two papers have battled each other since before I was born.

It is a funny deal, each during the week has its own paper. On Saturdays the Rocky Mountain News contains some of the previously Sunday features of both the News and the Post. Sundays the paper is titled, "The Sunday Denver Post" and comes with the whole rest of the ball of worms, oh man.

One thing I definitely do not like is the Broadsheet format. I have always liked the Tabloid type, much easier to handle.

The Post has traditionally been the Establishment, conservative, Republican type of rag and the News (Scripps Howard) has been more Democratically inclined.

I am waiting to see who will rule on political leanings. Who knows, maybe it will blend into some mindless, politically correct pap.

I just how the employee situation was handled ? Were the Denver Post printers and associated personnel laid off ? I have heard nothing nor have I seen anything about it.

Interesting just how much time a man can spend on the Sunday Paper, therefore this will be a fairly short entry.

After watching the water flow under the bridge for a time, maybe I will come to a conclusion of whether this a good thing or not. Meanwhile I wallow in the double amount of comics as both News and Post comics are in there.

So, maybe later the new spelling for joke will start with JOA . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008