Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 30, 2007 - 20:54 MDT

ENDLESS TUNE

It just occurred to me while reading the news today. Many of the things discussed in the papers today are the same subject more or less that have been talked about in papers since they began I guess.

Funny thing is, that the same problems have been in existence for who knows how long and no viable solution has yet been printed.

Times change, language changes, but the problems remain the same, more or less.

Seems like to me that vested interests, moneyed interests are against progress per se if they think it will affect their bottom line this year - - - regardless of next year or the year after.

I see in today's paper that ethanol is not considered to be such a boon, and the proliferation of plants producing it is creating a glut, but our government is subsidizing said industry.

Nevertheless production is increasing and the demand on water also increases as well as foodstuff prices are rising.

I have read articles pro and con and in-between about the qualities of ethanol and efficacy of same. Seems to me that ethanol can be made from most any growing thing (plant life-wise) so why the concentration on corn ?

And what is anyone doing to deal with the growing problem of the Oglalla aquifer which supplies water to cornfields in our midsection ? Are we headed for another dust bowl now that farmers are putting grasslands into corn production ?

I don't know, am not the expert but think more thought and planning should go into most anything to do with our water supply. Ground water and flowing rivers are not infinite sources for us to waste.

The words vary over the years, subject remains much the same and is sung to an ENDLESS TUNE . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008