Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 04, 2007 - 21:27 MDT

DAY OF DISAPPOINTMENT

Sort of bitter sweet, good mixed with bad one might say.

A bit ago we went to Estes Park, hoping to get some good shots of the Golden Aspen. We were a bit early, but in Moraine Park on the edge of Rocky Mountain National Park we did get to see a bunch of elk. They bugle, or to my mind "honk their horns" the males do when they are in the mood, and like most males - they are always in the mood. But at this time of year the ladies are also in the mood and the welkin rings.

Heather walked down with the group to be near a herd, does with an antlered male guarding them, he already had his harem under control.

I stayed with the car and zoomed a shot or two, but feeble it was.

We did see a few Aspen all lit up by the sun and the mountain air was quite invigorating. We turned back instead of going over Trail Ridge Road as we had dallied too long down below. It is a fairly long drive into Grand Lake from the park and longer yet to Denver. Ah, but next year when the road opens we plan to make the trip.

Today we started out to go up Fall River Road, hunting the brilliance of Golden Aspen. Shimmering gold leaves backed by the sun is a sight to behold.

On the way up I unlimbered my camera, got a picture or two of trees in town beginning to turn, a picture of Look Out Mountain with it's TV antennas and a few shots of the foothills.

My camera stayed in service into Idaho Springs, but turned up its toes and died just as we got to real Aspen territory.

I did get two of the view near Genessee of our mountains -- I don't think any camera can render the view that meets the human eye. In my blog there are two of that view and one of an old, gold-rush house in Idaho springs.

I had been counting on getting a view of the back range when the first snows were on top, icing on the cake one might say.

Views of majesty

I will be happy to e-mail full size shots of those.

Heather and I proceeded up Fall River Pass using her film Olympus camera and got some good shots of the Aspens up there, only turning back when the Aspens dwindled to zilch because of the altitude.

All in all it was a very enjoyable day, the two of us doing what we have been doing every year while we are in state, takes a certain philosophy to get such a kick out of seeing them in all their glory. Whatever it takes, call it what you will - - but we've got it.

The day was sunny and reasonably warm up there, with just a tang of chill and we ate at our favorite place in Idaho Springs to top it off. So, it was good our DAY OF DISAPPOINTMENT . . . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008