Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 26, 2007 - 17:26 MDT

SELECTION ELECTION ?

After about 86 years this man has picked many favorites. But there is one that eludes me to this day.

There are always things that one doesn�t like, even about their favorites. Thus it is with this one thing.

When Fall came I enjoyed kicking through the fallen leaves, the bracing air and the colors of the foliage, but dreading the winter to come.

When winter came, I gritted my teeth, put on my mittens, used a muffler and hurried home from school. There were times and games played in the snowy weather that I enjoyed, and thawed my frozen fingers over the hot stove after participating. Later in my teens I enjoyed ice skating to the max, especially the hot drink after I got home. And after I was married I enjoyed skiing pretty much � enjoyed even more the return to the flat lands and warmth of my hearth.

Part of the fun of Winter was of course Christmas and the counting of days and months �til Spring.

Then in the Spring the resurgence and burgeoning of vegetable life and the lifting of human spirits, the green haze of leaves beginning to come out, the Daffodils and Forsythia blaring their yellow joy to the world, those vagrant zephyrs of warm, humid air with the scent of growth all around. Spring rains are a thing in themselves as well.

Then Spring gradually segues into blessed summer, a time of fecundity, warmth and happiness.

That�s the four of them in short - - - but it does truly take four of them for this man to completely appreciate any of them. They all offer a means of comparison. How can one tell happiness if not to compare it to times of sadness ? Doesn�t the memory of gloomy, icy, snowy days lend a hand in making Spring such a lovely time ?

So, perhaps, I could say that my favorite season is the "year" as a whole. Why not such a SELECTION ELECTION ? . . . . . . . . .

83 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008