Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 08, 2007 - 21:21 MST

WHAT YOU CAN FIND

As we go about our errands we cross and recross residential areas that most always exhibit interesting sights.

One of those sights is sure to perk my ears up - - - "Garage Sale."

We find a place to park and each of us pan for our individual type of gold. For me first thing is to look for books, and there are usually at least a few to be looked over and bought. I have made some grand finds, books I couldn't afford when bought new, and are none the worse for wear when found at a garage sale. And the prices are usually quite right, seems as if the main aim of the owners is to just get rid of all that stuff. They don't pay a guy to take stuff away, but sometimes come close.

Today was Thursday, and we ran onto a garage sale. Why on Thursday, I didn't ask -- perhaps just getting a head start for the weekend, they certainly had enough stuff to last that long I guess.

Today I bought a book, a paper back, a small paperback. Just skimming a few pages piqued my interest and I shall read it through and maybe check out from the library other books of that nature.

It is "Man's Search For Meaning" by Viktor E. Frankl. He was a man who lived through the "Holocaust" in Germany.

In his own way he developed a method of psychotherapy which he calls "Logotherapy" existential somewhat but has its applications many of which to go by the book have been successful.

The first part of the book delineate his experiences in concentration camps and his survival therefrom. Psychic survival to the max. From his experiences he developed this type of psychotherapy, borrowing from Frued and Adler to name a couple, but developing his own slant on things. Wish I could have run into a psychotherapist like that when I needed one, my recovery would have been much more rapid I think.

So for the rest of the night I shall be reading. When out doing errands you can never tell WHAT YOU CAN FIND . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008