Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 11, 2007 - 22:45 MST

SOBER THOUGHTS

Today was Veteran's Day, I went about my actions much in thought. Thinking of my time as a tech rep during the time of war in Vietnam.

I spent time with Navy and US Air force in my job in South East Asia. Visited a Navy Chief while he was in hospital in Yokohama and saw the wounded being stabilized to the point they could be shipped back to the states. That in itself was heart rending, knowing that many of those who survived would be crippled and hampered the rest of their lives.

In Vietnam and in Thailand I saw how the poverty laid heavy on the people there and saw the advisory team members come back from action in the boonies, filthy, vermin ridden, scratched and clawed to be able to clean up, wash their gear and get a few days rest.

I saw too much, too many things, and that was not a fraction of what went on.

Folks who saw duty as military are given short shrift when they come home and forgotten quickly by most people.

I remember my uncle who did mule train duty in Italy, who spent a month of R&R in Florida on his return from war, and who when a car backfired or other heavy noise occurred would dive for cover, he was changed from the man he was before service. Many of my school chums went to war and never returned.

I spent time in Southeast Asia, both on a carrier on Yankee Station and with the Air Force advisory group in Vietnam.

So I feel that I have seen and experienced enough to say that we owe service people, whether career is here stateside, or overseas a deep love and feeling of gratitude for their sacrifices. Even here in the states military life is not at all easy. Demands much and pays little.

So what is expected of us as individuals ? Buy a poppy and remember for a few minutes a veteran. Many of us don't even do that. I spent my day in SOBER THOUGHTS . . . . . . . . . . .

1 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008