Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-11 - 18:09 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Awash

More or less a very prosaic day in some respects -- normal life had to go on as usual. Errands to run, help with the housekeeping, just the everyday run of things.

Received a long phone call from our daughter in Eugene, Oregon early this morning (for me). Her kids were being picked up for school by a friend and she and I had a gabfest. She is usually too busy to talk or e-mail and at the end of the day she burns and crashes. But not today, it was a wonderfully pleasant chat.

In a fairly new shopping center we ate lunch where there is this mixed up eating place -- Taco Bell and Pizza Hut -- weird to say the least. I have a bad opinion of that and many other fast food places. The selection of pizza was scant. We bought Mexican, Heather got the Taco Salad, I got the Beef Burrito Supreme. I don't think I will go back to Taco Bell anymore. My memory of how good their offering once was compared to now, makes me want to barf. For instance, my burrito was made with a paper thin tortilla which cracked and broke in several places spewing filling everywhere even with delicate handling, bummer that. The meat was so finely ground that it was almost like pate, the resultant filling was ooky to my eyes and taste. Heather's Taco Salad, once our very favorite there has been down graded ever since its introduction. The shell has dwindled, and the filling was ooky as my burrito. I tried the Chalupas there when they first came out, the first one was good. The next three, the bread stuff appeared to have been vulcanized -- too tough to chew. This grouch of a senile groaner remembers how good things once were, until the sizes got smaller, quality went down and the prices went up, up, up. And it is not just Taco Bell, it is pretty much that way everywhere. Pah.

We did have a pleasant visit with each other after she got got me a spork / foon ? oh you know, the spoon with teeth to enable me to eat the drooled out guck that fell out through the seams. Enough.

When I got up this morning we had a blizzard going for a short time which tapered off after while, maybe ended up six to eight inches on the ground. Water was dripping off the tree limbs already and I expect that it will be mostly melted by tomorrow afternoon.

Kathryn of a Size Too Small said her husband is stuck (probably in Southern Wyoming) where I-80 is often blocked off when heavy snow descends there. Long flat stretches, well paved wide road, but the wind driven snow makes terrible drifts. She said he was holed up in a motel till the road would be open again. He must have headed for cover early before everything was full to the gills. When it isn't possible to see the road and the fence posts are under drifted snow, even an experienced driver who knows the territory well can end up ditched with help unavailable.

In between times today I was like a small dog with cabin fever finally let loose, running with its nose in the snow. There was a blizzard of another kind here, e-cards and e-mails from most everyone I know on the net and from friends and relatives who have access. What a pleasant and thrilling thing it has been. When everybody someone knows, shows, it is a grand time as it goes. Still coming in they are, this man, in e-cards is totally and happily Awash . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008