Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 10, 2007 - 02:51 MST

HINDMOST

It has been said, "The devil takes the hindmost," and at times it seems to be true.

Patting ourselves on the back Friday evening because we got errands done and gently sleeping the night through. We woke Saturday morning to see snow sifting gently down.

About mid coffee it occurred to us things we had forgotten to do and places we had to go.

Naturally the things to be done had to be done before we could go.

As the day wore on the snowfall increased in quantity and deepened as the day advanced.

Gingerly, at last, we edged into the neighborhood artery and went our way.

Going was slow even in the stores and postoffice and the day wore on as we wore down.

Afternoon edged into night, not to our delight.

At last we edged into the creeping rush hour traffic and inched our way home. Cars moving carefully, but nevertheless, sliding a bit when coming to a stop. Getting into the car my foot slipped and taking gyrating evasive action to keep from falling managed to mess up my shoulder yet more.

Going onto 3 AM Monday morning it is, time disappeared on me in a Vicodin haze, pain in control but mentally foggy.

Here speaks one of the HINDMOST . . . . . . . . .

3 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008