Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-15 - 01:14 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Result

This is an entry for the Fourteenth of April.

Time ran away and is due to start about 9:00 AM today (Sunday). Saturday was a grand start for the day, sunshining, light breeze. Friday evening while I was sitting at the keyboard Heather called me to come out to the kitchen. When I left the room I walked into the arms of my daughter who lives in Eugene, Oregon. They had just come to town to be at this undeserving guys birthday party.

After I had recovered a bit from the shock and extreme joy permeating my soul, we spent a short time in the evening visiting until fatigue took them to hastily made up pallets.

Saturday morning after a quick breakfast of coffee and doughnuts for the grown ups, preparations began for an early evening party, which went on up to and including the time the party started.

The party started in the daylight so that the combined Bastion Bastinado and Easter Egg Hunt could be accomplished with out flashlights.

If there is much more typed in, it will degenerate into euphoric gibberish. I sat with and celebrated amid forty relatives, including my Eugene daughter, her kids, and her husband. The circle was complete !

The invitations specified no gifts - - - hell they all cheated. One young relative told me that he didn't know what to get and old eighty year man that he didn't already have, so he brought me twenty dollars worth of "scratch off" lottery tickets and one "Quick Pick" for tonights (Saturday) drawing.

Heather who has been giving me birthday presents all along, explosively expedited her action this last two weeks, snuck into her card for me, two tickets for River Dance for Saturday, April 21.

She had seen me go ga-ga over it when it was shown on TV during a public broadcasting fund drive, and heard me pledge so much a month for a year to get the video tape - - and more yet had seen me hog the TV the time or two that it has been re-run here . . . . that her horribly expensive tickets were the Result . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008