Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 05, 2008 - 17:55 MST

21 GLUM SALUTE

Weary, bleary and not quite teary a rather dim daylight forced itself on me. Kept trying to fend it off without being offensive, not such luck though.

Took a quick Tyelonl with my bedside bottle of water and laid myself back down (after a quick pit stop) and wooed Morpheus once again. Not lucky that way, I gave it up and somewhat arose.

It was my regular morning routine (Mentioned when I was first in my diary days) except with the extra ingredient of pain, which made things slower and fumblier.

A bright note in the comics, Helga of Hagar the Horrible was thanking God for giving her a mate and asking if he takes trade ins - - - - a laugh for sure and sad to think that many folks are in that way. And then side by side, making me wonder if the big brother's name is Earl (of Pickles) standing in front of the bathroom mirror and going through the excuse routine, "Sorry, my bad ! Excuse me, my fault entirely. I''m so sorry. I beg your pardon. Whoops, my mistake.

Little brother comes in and asks, "What are you doing ?"

Big brother replies, "Just warming up for the day ahead."

Next door is Pickles where a friend is reading something to Earl. "Hmmm, according to new studies the human brain starts slowing down as early as age 30." Followed by two blank panels and the third in which Earl says, "Come again ?"

Makes me wonder if the two are related and if I am in the same lineage ?

As the day wore on, the realization that Heather had gone across town, not thinking to look at the gas gauge arrived home thanking her lucky stars that she made it home without running out of gas and telling me that we would surely have to go for gasoline today.

But about that time pain overwhelmed me and I took one of those poisonous pain pills, sat back on the couch getting as comfortable as I could and let sleep overtake me, noting in passing that she had put a comfy throw over me.

Late afternoon sun filtering through the front windows greeted me as she touched my hip and said, "I just remembered, we need milk too. If you want to be home before dark, we'd better go now." Now Momma don' 'low no cussin' in here, so after a few silent expletives I got myself ready and we went.

Gentle soul she is, she said, "You pump the gas (My usual job) and I'll go inside and get the milk while you have a Latte Mocha in the break area.

Which suited me to a tee, I people watched with interest and especially the little kids in their self assured confidence wend their way, some on those roller shoes, (Oh, man, do I wish I had a pair of them) probably better I don't though.

Got home by the time it was dark-like dusky, unloaded, stripped down and put on my warm fuzzy Christmas bath robe and said to myself, "Self, perhaps you can do a bit more than a two sentence entry tonight." To which I grinned and replied, "Self, I'm in a good mood and I'll give it a try." And I am - - - herewith my 21 GLUM SALUTE . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008