Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 10, 2008 - 16:17 MST

OH DEM DRY BONES

My admiration for those of you who can ail, suffer pain and still write a happy song.

For almost a month I have been having great pain with my left shoulder. Trouble first became observable before we took off for Eugene, Oregon for our Thanksgiving visit to family. It grew worse as time went on. A few days after we got home I could get in to see doctor. At that time she diagnosed "rotator cuff syndroms" gave a prescription for vicodin and reference to a physical therapist. I got in to see her as soon as possible and went with the program. I had the routine firmly in mind and along with her statement, "don't go into pain." Went with the flow. Then with another visit with our PC she increased the prescription to percocet and recommended going on with physical therapy.

Third time was Christmas eve Day when she injected a steriodal chemcial into my shoulder. I've had a couple of them in earlier years which worked nicely. I followed all the recommendations and waited patiently the appropriate time.

Only thing is that pain was not cooperating a bit, hurting more each day.

One thing I find is that I am losing my grip with my left hand. Buttons present a problem, opening standard medicine bottles is now almost an impossibilty, carrying a couple of things in my left hand seems to lead to one of them being dropped.

So today our PC gave me revised diagnosis to " Frozen Shoulder Syndrome" -- A left handed idea of same thing but only worse entailing more thereapy (painful) and a referral to Orthopedic, another to physical therapy and discussed with us accupuncture, she said, which some folks have had luck in an amazing amount of time.

Also gave me a prescription for a muscle relaxant and a different pain pill and a recommendation to judiciously use of ibuprofin if needed.

Plan of attack - Heather called and made an appointment with accupuncture doctor tomorrow afternoon, checked in with ortho and got in line for a survey there.

I'm looking with optomism toward the next few weeks.

I am so very grateful to friends, relatives and net relatives who have been rooting for me and probably most of all my dear faithful wife who has been doing all she can to help me and encourage me, one who has been through much of the same things I have. Hugs and kisses my love.

And when a man gets old and unbenditic the rasps of arthritis brings to mind the music associated with.... OH DEM DRY BONES . . . . . . . . . . . . .

12 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008