Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 15, 2008 - 08:15 MST

MECHANICAL MOLE TO BE SURGICALLY REMOVED

The high prairie on the northeastern plains from Denver, once the residence and hunting grounds of all sorts of carnivors, raptors and men, when they moved in, in recent years has become death to wildlife and in essence a victim of its own cannibalism.

D-I-A (Denver International Airport) so named, nicknamed and inky pen named things such as �Damned Ineffective Airpark,� �Do It Anyways,� and many other unprintable DIAs. Became a reality 15 miles north of I-70 and about 5 or so miles east of town.

The terminal was constructed of plastic in tent form, would have been a joy to the miners of yesteryear. Don�t know if I was the first to hand the name TENT CITY to it but it sure is a fitting name, all sprawled out on the plains, sporting a brilliant white in imitation of our snow peaked mountains.

It is for sure a miracle of imaginative construction and beauty.

But like the beauty of nature, �The Apple,� boring inside of it is a parasite. A parasite that until it proved unfit to do its duty, ate baggage, itself and the reputations of many connected with the conception and erection and attempting to make the blooming thing function.

Quote �concilman Charlie Brown called the system, which cost DIA nearly $700 million by some estimates, a �colossal failure.�

Quote �The City Council approved two contracts Monday with companies that will dismantle and haul away 20 miles of tracks and other parts of the troubled system.� �We have an engineering estimate sthat says to take out the complete system that�s not being used will be about $9 million said Greg Holt, the airport�s director of transportation systems.� Unquote

Now that takes some imaginative brainiac work to design something, that will lose money, cost money to build, waste money while in existence and take more money to get rid of it. Not counting the workaround construction and revision of systems to fit in the niches left.

Meanwhile though DIA will fly planes in and out, handle baggage as efficiently as other airfields do, in spite of the adhesive baggage handling system that doesn�t work. It will be interesting to see what new fly in the ointment that develops at the place where there is a

MECHANICAL MOLE TO BE SURGICALLY REMOVED

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Seems by the way to operate much like the medical set up here. My left shoulder went berserk on me while I was in Oregon. By the time I got to see a doctor, a referral to a physical therapist along with a prescription for pain meds and attempted to go from square one � which by the way didn�t work. Next move was to see PC and get a corticosteriod injection to the shoulder, back to physical therapist, then another visit to doctor which resulted in different meds and referral the ortho people. Also was discussed briefly such things as accupuncture.

Next day had my first bit of acupuncture, which did some good.

The following day was advised by PC to call ortho for appointment to get a MRI � guess she looked back in my records and saw that I had a broken neck in 1997 which although healed through physical therapy still had pain on that side of my neck. Apparently missed it I guess when I mentioned that I was losing the use of fingers and strength on that side and had much pain the full length of that arm.

Heather called in and got me an appointment with ortho, the orthopedist immediately suggested that the symptoms in my arm and fingers was not related to rotator cuff syndrome and highly recommended MRI, which will be a week or more coming. Then the reading by a neurosurgeon is another thing. That department is backed up for months.

Then another trip to acupuncturist which was good too and then was actually able to do some physical therapy on the pulleys tonight.

So then to continue with physical therapist and having acupuncture as long as it helps and to follow through with MRI and Neurosurgeon consult and see what happens.

Right now seems that meds and acupuncture are going to help until the system catches up with me. Anything other than narcotics to help with pain is a go for me. So, now I shall deal with my inner mechanical material movement mole and make the bloody best of it.

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008