Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-17 - 12:13 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

OLD - OLD

When I was a kid and went to see one friend or another I would often see a brass plate by their doorbell switch that said, "No Solicitors." later in life when we had a house without a doorbell I began to realize the sense of using that little plate.

The Encyclopedic Salesmen and the ? Survey ? people kept beating on our door. You know the ones who wouldn't take no for an answer, who said it would only take a minute, but had to show you the product or program and wiggle their way into the house and take up hours of our time trying desperately to make a sale.

Later on "Telemarketing," became the big thing. Which also became a distractive thing. Especially when called at meal time or when in the middle of entertaining company.

There were ones who just wouldn't accept the word no and who would try to keep me on the line.

I finally adopted, just recently the line of politely answering the phone, and for whatever the reason my reply runs somewhat like this, "I never buy as the result of a call, nor do I make a commitment by phone, nor am I interested in standing here where I am uncomfortable, listening to something I don't really have time for. If you want to contact me -- you have my phone number -- surely you must have my address, please send me a brochure and I will look it over." It used to be that I would give them my mailing address. In all the time I have been pestered, not once have I been sent a brochure.

When I was in my late teens and looking for work, family and friends told me that I should be a salesman. Through one source or another I would be sent to seminars I guess is what they would be called now. One that I went to was by a door to door stocking company, won't say the name -- may be still in business. Very plainly they were trying to teach us how to sell something to people who didn't use that product, wouldn't know how to use it if they had it, couldn't afford it and basically didn't want it. Tried to teach us methods of appealing to their vanity or by using their ignorance to cozen them. That early, I became resistant to the "hard sell," and didn't want to be trained in those tactics and haven't changed over the years.

I doubt if I will buy much over the internet either. If I can't see something, heft it or try to see the quality of it -- damn if I'm going to buy it.

Recently in Colorado there has been a bill introduced, Senate Bill 93. which sets up a no-call list that telemarketers would have to honor.

The bill, buried almost by Speaker Doug Dean is to be finally heard today by the Business Affairs and Labor Committee.

Apparently there has been a bunch of monied groups trying to keep this bill from becoming a reality. Our beloved politicians are afraid that somehow sometime it could prevent them from their money raising by phone.

I have been trying to be polite. If this bill is killed, this is the policy I shall adopt. "You are not related to me nor are you one of my friends - - - I do not accept calls from companies or organizations, good bye!"

Still the age old tactic of trying to get some one to buy something that can't be used by someone who doesn't know how to use it, is not affordable or will sink one into debt to the ears. If I can ignore the pap-euphemistic-distorted line on TV, Newspapers, Magazines and street corner lapel grabbers -- I intend to put a stop to being harangued on the telephone by any body, company or group.

If you make your living from doing something like this, you should be used to the fact that out of the hundreds you call possibly no one of your calls will meet with success. I do not hate you, I just will not take the time to listen. If you are not related to me or a known friend of mine --- get off my line !

I hope to remain gentle and polite but being figuratively grabbed by the elbow on the phone is getting OLD - OLD . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008