Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-20 - 01:04 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Password - Desultory

Andrew says that the Diaryland Server was down six hours Thursday night. Seemed a lot longer than that, but I won't argue the point. Anyhow, this is for the 19th April.

Thursday has been desultory from the beginning. After eight hours of sleep, I arose and tended to the necessary and laid back down for a bit and drifted into a pleasant, restful spring dream of laying on the warm grass, surrounded by blooming flowers which had sweet perfume, hearing soft, melodious string music in the background.

Managed to wake up easily later on and snatch my usual cup of coffee and banana without antagonizing Heather with a grouchy greeting.

Things continued throughout the day in a similar manner. We took a relaxing walk in the park, admiring the new leaves on some of the trees and the bursting buds on others. Thankful for the warmth and gentle breeze. It is supposed to get down to maybe 25 degrees F on Saturday night - Sunday morning. Mayhap it will, or not, whichever it decides to do as Denver weather usually does.

It takes just a little wiggle of the Jetstream to frustrate the wisest weatherman. One thing though, at this time of year unless we get a hell of a snowstorm, whatever happens, the warmth of day will soon bring spring weather back in all its magnificence.

Back at our apartment we lazily made plans for the day. We did a little relaxed running, I vacuumed and later Heather's brother and wife came by. The ladies went to visit Heather's sister who has Alzheimer's, her brother and I sat on the ? catio ? I think John calls it, sipping coffee, eating an occasional cookie and talking in a (guess) - - - desultory way. Sunny with enough breeze to make it comfortable as we passed a pleasant afternoon.

After they left Heather and I just lazed around, had a bite of the huge potato salad from the fridge and sliced ham from fridge too - - food left over from the birthday party the other day. Ripe olives will be part of my daily menu as long as they last. Also left over from the party. Later, well, you know, for desert coffee and birthday cake. Potato salad and sliced ham could possibly be welcomed by me every day.

I visited with Heather 'til her Telly claimed her attention. Then I tried to get the attention of Diaryland, which in its own way, in a desultory manner, wasn't listening to my plea for attention.

So, I would visit with Heather during commericals and surf the net, periodically making stabs at doing an entry.

I sit here with the clock glaring at me and silently shouting, "One thirty, dummy, go to bed !

A kind of soothing day all in all, and seeing that I was born a night owl whose feet fit a limb -- one thirty ain't bad.

The day's Password - Desultory

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008