Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-21 - 20:05 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Afternoon Paradise

What is it they say ? "On St Patrick's Day, everybody the world over is Irish." Only one quarter of my ancestry is of the Irish Persuasion, but, when it comes to things Irish, my heart races, my mind thrills and suddenly life is vibrantly good.

Today was the culmination of my ten day birthday celebration. Heather gave me tickets for us to go to, "River Dance The Show," for this afternoon.

A whole afternoon of blissful euphoria for me, and morning as well come to think of it. I slept in a bit and awakened as I used to on holiday mornings as a kid, knowing that today was special.

We left early, found a decent parking space and managed to wiggle our way inside to be told the show hadn't started yet. A smile from Heather and the words from me, "I want to see the show, but I have to sit down, we will be no trouble." This was responded by a smile and, "Enjoy."

Located the restrooms and checked where our seating was, marvelous it was twenty five or thirty steps between them. Heather had arranged seats in the crippled area (not handicapped -- they do that to horses and golfers). On the mezzanine, upper end were chairs that could be moved out to make room and my delightful wife had managed to secure seats there.

So, we were seated without being fatigued and ready to enjoy the show. I have "River Dance" on video tape, starring Michael Flatley and Jeannie Butler. I went berserk when it was shown on a PBS fund raiser, to the extent that I contributed ten dollars a month for a year to get the tape with the bonus of course of watching PBS. It has been played many times by me.

But nothing can compare to being there with the bass shaking my soul and the singers voice rising to the skies, the sounds of the step dancing made my blood sing.

It occurred to me that the term, "Twinkle Toes," must have been coined by some one who had watched a nimble footed Irish lassie doing the super speed Celtic Fandango. The complete precision of their synchronized dancing by far exceeded that of the "Rockettes," due to the much faster pace. As perfect a performance of anything I have ever seen. The instrumental and percussion musicians made it seem as if there were an orchestra of hundreds. Marvelous music, marvelous singing and wonderful Irish bagpipes.

Heather told me that they give two shows a day. I somehow can't see how that expenditure of energy can take a performer through two shows in one day. Their physical condition must be astounding.

Maybe this old dude should be ashamed to admit it, but I am not -- I was moved to tears of joy several times.

After the performance Heather and I remained seated at ease with a glow of joy emanating from me and Heather visibly happy that I had enjoyed her birthday present so much. After while when the auditorium was almost empty we arose, went downstairs to turn in the binoculars we had rented, rode the elevator to our parking floor and walked the few steps to our car. Of course there was a line of cars which dissipated fairly quickly. and so we were out on the street fairly soon.

A stop made for Heather and a stop at Office Max for me and then we headed for our food supply depot, "Denny's" where I get a meal that is not to much for my stomach to hold.

We are now at home, Heather watching her TV program and me trying to do an entry. This clumsy guy hopes to edit it and get it out without losing the whole thing.

I don't think that for me there will ever be another such Paradise In The Afternoon . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008