Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-04-30 - 21:37 Mountain DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Nattering

Using the prerogative pretensions of an old man, I guess it is my duty to say in one way or another, "The World is going to Hell in a handbasket." A mind set of the aged, and deemed to be a right and a duty.

But then my tangled mind says, "Riiiight dumbo, go back and read a bit more of history." Well, a tangled mind is better than no mind at all, and that is about all I can come up with usually.

So maybe I should aim my blunderbuss in the right direction and say what my ten year old mind says, "Man, there's a buncha stuff going on that Mom and Dad taught me isn't right, and I don't like it a bit.

My mind standing on a slippery log spanning the rapids and spinning in indescision.

There have been so many great advances made in science, medicine, inventing and perfecting the expertise required to attain state of the art performance in all things. There have been advances made even in history, where now, some of the true facts are coming to light. And if we care to be realistic we can see the error of some of our ways in America, and of the great wisdom in some of the other ways.

I guess the troubles of the world now can still be blamed on the perversities of the beast residing in homo sapiens skull piece.

I think failure to adequately communicate is the gravest problem of the world, as it always has been. Maybe I could call it, "Selective definition," mano a mano, saying the same words but defining them in a way that they are each 180 degrees out of phase.

Diplomacy may be the finest skill in the world, a diplomat trying to understand what is being said, what that really means, what he or she can say or do enabling both sides to peacefully feel that they have gained a bit of advantage. But then I am reminded of Iraq's slippery diplomat so much in our news during the Gulf War, the loudspeaker of Hussein pointed at the world.

It is hard to see, but it looks to me as if waffling is diplomacy gone awry, underground, for purposes of deception and of obscuring the facts. (see politics 101).

Am I trying to say something here ? I think so, even if it is a two way conversation between me and my id. Holding a conversation not as a debate but as attempt to see where I stand in actuality and not having a great deal of luck.

I really do not want to be one of the old fogeys, so well depicted in Ziggy's panel, who can do nothing but sit on a park bench, just Nattering . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008