Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-05-04 - 22:19 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Wondering He Is Tonight

An entry that took about an hour and a half tonight and signed out as done with an html number of 500.html was received an "oops, that number already in use, please hit your back button and do another number." When I hit the back button, my whole entry disappeared. Very seldom do I cross up on my html.number and I didn't this time. In times before a punch on the back button let me back in to change the number. Curses ! ! !

On second thought maybe it is a blessing, probably didn't deserve to see the light of day anyhow. So here I sit wondering what to do next.

It is late and I am short of time and patience, so I will do me a short entry and name it 501.html and see if it goes through. You guys with computers have an advantage there -- I think -- can't one of your entries be reentered from the computer memory ?

Right now I am sitting and reading a bit of Molly Ivins from our May 2 newspaper. She lists a few things that GWB the Texan has done at the behest of the interests with big money behind them wielding big clubs.

He is beginning to make impressive inroads into the rights of the average Joe like me.

Underneath that column is one by the economist Thomas Sowell who writes a pretty common sense column which also brings out some of the things attacking us. A short quote from his column, "In the Hastings Center Report, described as a journal of medical ethics, a medical ethicist says that ""health care should be withheld even for those who "want to live" if they have already lived beyond the politically correct number of years -- which he suggests might be 75. He says that, after such a "full rich life" then "one is duty bound to die."" (Bastion sez "There is another double dome bean counter putting in his two bits worth, what other reason would there be but COST EFFECTIVENESS ?)There's more. Another medical ethicist would consider extending the limit to 80 years, but after that, medical care should be denied to all who have lived out a natural life span."

My words now. Yep, and think how that would benefit the Social Security money. There would be more for the people who are young now to invest and lose. We had a governor here in Colorado who made himself very unpopular by beating the "duty to die" drum.

Damn, I would have expired in 1996 or at least in 1997 after our horrendous auto accident when that one murky character would have had medical treatment denied for me. The other egghead -- hah, if I get sick in my eightieth year, does he mean that I should be denied treatment?

I have a very strong suspicion that they feel that it is only for us peons in HMO's or the poor who are always with us. I am sure that people with big bucks will pay for and receive treatment they want to pay for, with the ethicists blessings. You know big money pays for ethicists and whatever else they want with only a few remaining independent thinkers left.

So now, let us see what Dairyland does with 501.html puzzled and Wondering He Is Tonight . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008