Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-05-11 - 13:34 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

And So It Is

There are many ideas, there should be room for mine which may be in agreement with some body or no body, but here they are.

I feel that the path to death begins at the instant of conception. Life then begins on its trip to the inevitable end. We can strive to be healthy, strong and wise on the trip, or we can dribble out our heritage in unsavory ways.

The end result in any case is death. For the spendthrift, wastrel who spends his life and body in foolish ways as a wastrel who verily discards his body, soul and life. For the vibrant, healthy, loving, hardworking person -- there is maybe a chance for a long life - - - - and maybe not. Our term on this earth is not guaranteed, life is fragile and can end in an instant through no fault of the person.

I mourn because I miss those loved ones who have gone before me, because I miss them and must readjust my life to try to fill that aching gap. I mourn for those who are in a terminal condition because unless a miracle occurs they will soon be gone, we have not yet been able to show just how much we love them.

I can't preach any particular sermon from the position of an accomplished theologian, just state how I feel. Probably just to myself alone will it have pertinence.

Without consideration of rewards or punishment, my way of thinking is that death is in its way the graduation to another state of being -- with grades to be passed out to us on our arrival to where ever it might be. One sect says that one's passing should be a celebration. I am inclined to feel that way. I would be much more easy in my mind if I thought my family would let the funeral directors inter the vehicle I drove around while living.

I would like them to gather round a dinner table and remember the fun things and good times we all had. Won't work that way though -- family will have it their way, and if that is what it takes to assuage their grief, so be it.

Each faith has some idea of what happens to a soul after death. With my particular religious background, other than feeling that there is definitely something after life on this earth, something much better than what is here, I feel that the rest of it is one of the mysteries only to be revealed to the graduate.

Why be lugubrious about things ? Do I mourn the lost minutes and hours I can't recover ? Heck no ! I try to live life to the max as much as my body will let me, smell the roses as I pass by and laugh and love as much as I can.

I won't live in fear of the future nor will allow myself to be drug down by what is behind me.

I also know that Remembrance is to me a pleasure, going back through the pleasant times of life deliberately, the unpleasant times come back unbeseeched, but I can overlay them with happiness -- they are still there but pushed into their proper place.

Stuff happens, but I don't make a federal case out of it, And So It Is . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008