Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-05-14 - 20:09 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Left Over Monday

I guess this is a Monday upon which I would have been serving time in the proverbial salt mine.

Long ago, before retirement I remember a party Friday night, mow grass etc. on Saturday, party Saturday night and get up hung-over and take the family to the hills for a picnic, or go to an organized company type picnic, gorge on the good food and tire myself out playing softball in an altitude considerably higher than Denver. Then following the cars back to town, bumper to bumper at a snail's pace, in the dark. Bed at that time seemed to be elusive and too far away to think about. It was too easy to sit in misery out of sorts with the whole deal, teeth clenched, moving an inch at a time and threatening bodily harm to the four kids in the back who were continuing the all out war of Siblinghood. Bed at that time seemed to be an impossible dream --without the music.

Then arriving home and getting the kids headed for bed, laying out clothes for morning making it possible to leap out of bed after sleeping too long and doing a firehouse scramble into clothing. After coping with the usual gridlock arriving at work in the cheeriest of moods - - - - yeah, riiiiiight.

I was a good boy all through this weekend, not drinking any more, so there was no alcohol related end of the world feelings along with aches, pains and a stomach in screaming mutiny. Got plenty of rest, ate using a bit of residual common sense and didn't overeat or over exert. Two of our children went with us to eat at Applebee's and oldest son who is still a newbie grandpa came late in the afternoon after spending quality time with his grandson his Mom and Dad, they live in Casper, Wyoming and drove down to be with their parents on Mother's day. From eleven AM until six PM we had a scrumptious, laid back visit, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable time for all. Later Heather watched a rental video that she enjoyed and I messed around on the Net. Went to bed at a decent time and got unconscious quickly and slept well, at least I think I did.

But, when I woke up a miasma of ugh permeated all, I didn't want to get up and once up didn't want to stay up. Didn't feel that going back to bed was an answer either. I grumped off into the necessary and thence to the kitchen for my coffee and banana, picked up the morning paper and headed to my cave, growling at any noise that indicated a human approaching. Heather took a look at me and bided her time, figuring converstion with a grumpy, miserable old man would be unproductive -- which it would have been.

The trouble with me is that same mood and condition I would get in while I was still working. When I started stumbling around this morning, nothing was right and as the day went on wrongness covered everything. For the life of me I couldn't figure out why it was or what exactly was wrong with this sparkly Monday morning, but it was wrong, wrong and kept getting more so.

Depressed ? Naah, the mood I have been in takes too much energy to call it depression.

If I was still working a job it would be possible to be pissed at the bosses, other employees, the corporation and or the cars on the street on way to and from work. Darn it the only nits I could find to pick were attached strongly to my hide, maybe that is one of the things that made the day so wrong -- nobody to blame.

After I swallowed my bile and a cuppa, becoming nauseated by the headlines in the paper. I attacked this horrendous pile of papers to sort and file, you know the pile I started last August or so had finally reached the avalanche stage. Spoiled brat that I am the flotsam was roundly and soundly cussed by me, under my breath of course, any body have any use for the spleen vent I used today ? It has been fully road tested, pressure tested and it comes with a ninety day warranty. The attaching connection unfortunately has left hand threads, but could probably be forced and then beat into place. No chrome though.

Bright spot of the day was catching Aunt Sandy's new journal, glad to see her back. Otherwise, this day for some unaccountable reason was a Leftover Monday . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008