Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-05-23 - 22:34 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Loose Ends

Feel almost like it feels to be coming home from a long tiring trip to me, arriving home about noon. My body wants bed but knows that will lead to a sleepless night. My mind wants to get in "home" gear, but doesn't want to think about it very hard really. Usually too broke to go anywhere for the afternoon and/or evening and more or less at the upper limit of our patience with each other. Sittin' on the couch or easy chairs and comtemplating our navels or each other is not attractive either.

I did have a good one on one visit with my brother in law today, talking over old times and exchanging ideas and putting forth our line of thought for consideration. He is the brother I never had -- four years younger than I but seemed to be on a level with me from the first time we met and I have never thought different.

He and his sister Heather went to some sort of Senior entertainment, saw the man who was the accordionest in the Lawrence Welk orchestra also an expert banjo player. They had a good time, were entertained and wandered the booths in a window shopping manner.

I stayed home and tried to make some sort of sense of the stack of shuffled papers and put them somewhere. Some into file thirteen, others in a common sense place -- where I will never be able to find them.

Moved around in a sort of half hearted, foot dragging mode and gladly answered e-mails which were exciting and important to me.

They had a good time in town. When they returned Heather put stuff on to cook and whipped up a delicious salad while the dinner was cooking, I mashed the potatoes and we set the table and had a nice supper together.

One nephew who recently had a heart attack had just gone back into the hospital the other day has returned home. The word was that he had an aneurysm - - - seems a but doubtful to me that it was one, but it had something to do with his heart. It might have been the stent they put in, they are not foolproof and sometimes clog up.

One of our grand daughters has just returned home from a gall bladder operation and is recuperating.

Normal family life goes on, people getting sick and then getting well, occasionally one of us oldsters will graduate and leave our husk behind.

Yet to me, it is just like the return from a trip feeling, stalled and at Loose Ends . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008