Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-06-11 - 22:25 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Taboo

To me, the societal use of execution might be a necessary thing. This is I plainly see a subject of debate from many different angles and points of politically correct thought. It is a thing that finally my mind refuses to think about any more - I take no stand.

Through the ages kings and their ilk used killing of their subjects as their private plaything, usually clad in the light of, "He done wrong because I say so, therefore he dies."

Along the way death has been dealt with through various mechanisms - putting the responsibility upon law, legaleers and paid executioners. Now we have our pursuers, jailers, judges, lawyers, juries and huge tomes of law which effectively remove the stain of murder or spread it over a vast multitude of people.

The thing that gets my nanny is the media and the talking heads and panels running for a spoon to get a sip of the shed blood. Or rather, to smear the blood all over the papers and TV screens.

My opinion is that a crime should be reported in the news, the bloodhounds and other law enforcers search for and apprehension of the supposed criminal, should be briefly reported. The trial date could be published, and after jury deliberations the verdict and later the sentence announced. Later to be carried out. No blather, hoopla, various talking heads making their ignorant guesses. The jurors should be forbidden by law to respond to any of the media nor publish a book, such things to punished by a jail sentence. The execution could be announced in a brief article. Then according to my thought the notoriety and banner headlines should move on to something else.

Yes, I firmly believe in the right of the public to know ! I believe any private citizen should have the right to read the official proceedings, police reports and so forth by going to the place where such records are kept. I believe such things should not be kept secret.

I do believe that the media do a disservice amongst all of them to muddy and obscure the actualities.

Case in point (one) Does anyone believe that all the media coverage and recoverage will ever help arrrive at a damn thing in the way of discovery of the actualities and the apprehension of the murderer of Jon Benet Ramsey ? That particular case seems to have been a grand procession of media loudly proceeding through ankle deep vomit and a hash, rehash of the same old conjectures ad nauseum.

Bare, terse, brief reports of the salient facts - and no more - - - could possibly help prevent the publicity, glory seeking copycats who at times take hostages and demand full TV and news coverage. I think only the bare, true facts should be published, and then no more - - - period. All conjecture, guesswork and debate over the possibilities and probabilities -- to my way of thinking, should be Taboo . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008