Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-07-07 - 09:06 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Fear

As a child I learned fear. Fear of those bigger than me who forced me into corners.

In each stage of my life there existed something to fear and avoid if possible.

Seems as if at each new stage I had passed a course in living enabling me to deal with the oncoming, threatening damage. In time I learned to cope with sadistic teachers as well. Later it was the same with bosses.

Bosses, a big edition of sadistic teachers, but one I couldn't graduate away from because a living for me depended on said bosses. Occasionally I could escape one without causing problems and losing my family's means of survival, to another department or to another job paying as well, which had been searched out on my own time.

There always seems to be an ultimate authority hovering over us so that we have to watch out for and avoid being unfairly treated if possible.

However this creeping PC, euphemistic world we are living in now saddens me. I see by the news paper that many means of "big brothering," are now being put to use, or will be shortly which will endanger our privacy and welfare. For instance this sensing the heat in one's house from a distance, heat survelliance could go wildly astray if one's mate suffered a chill and turned up the thermostat to high, then misuse of this mode could cause a no-knock raid with the damages to life and property paid for by the innocent persons. Now they have perfected videocams that can accurately see through the windshields of autos and show the faces of those in the front seat. Geez, the misuse of that boggles my mind. Purportedly to catch speeders and red light runners and establish just who the driver was, it can with misuse keep track of our every movement.

So much of this stuff is sold to the public under the guise of public welfare, but in my mind these things are a shotgun effort which does not substitute for a live brain on the scene. Our tax money is being spent on gadgets rather than personnel trained to do the right thing. In the overall picture, I can be tapped for something that is absolutely untrue. So a videocam takes pictures of me driving a car, makes me wonder how soon these video cams will record every move that each of us makes block by block from lightpole mounted cams, how soon before they are forcibly placed in our homes ? ? ?

I think that the misapplication of existing laws by predjudiced authorities causes irreparable harm to those in disfavor.

DWB is one thing that is done by humans to others - Driving While Black. The harm to gay people by the one way mentality of some is another. And so down the list of what injustices are perpetrated upon humankind by ones in authority does seem to illustrate to me that these videocams would be put to much better use if mounted looking inward into the psyche of the enforcers, programmed to automatically self destruct with a bang when injustice is being done by that person.

Science fiction, maybe. Dreams, maybe. A wish for the right to be individuals I feel is threatened gravely by much of the new accessories which are being pushed as well as those laws now being enacted in a panic by the PC crowd, those who feel that I should think as they do, behave as they do and rigorously prosecute / persecute those who are different.

The idea that a man's home is his castle maybe true in an ideal world, but our castles are being assailed in a growing number of ways so that our progeny and their offspring will live in constant Fear . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008