Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-07-20 - 18:42 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

The Nose

Reading the paper makes me sick, watching the news on TV is worse because I can't back up and reread what was just said. My opinions follow.

Now our Denver Colorado police chief wants to hire in non-citizens as policemen. Criminy -- say what ? People who have never sworn allegiance to our country, who are not naturalized citizens ? Whose background cannot be checked on, Foreign Legion Storm Troops on our streets protecting us ? ? ? ? ha

A short article today, kind of buried in the middle of the paper. Quote, "Washington -- The White House issued its second veto threat Thursday on Mexican trucks legislation, the latest against a Senate measure intended to be a compromise. The measure approved last week by a Senate committee contains tougher safety requirements for U.S. bound Mexican trucks than those proposed by the administration. -- News Wire Services" Unquote So, I guess that the Bush In The Rose Garden wants to turn Mexican, loose cannon trucks upon the United States citizens ? ? ? ? My thought - Mexican trucks being sent north into our country should be as stringently regulated as our trucks here in our country. Should be logical to me. Is this another demonstration of NAFTA ? - - - - Never A Fair Trade Anyway.

Another brief quote from todays booze, "Washington - A preliminary White House commission report condemned the Social Security system Thursday as "broken" and warned that within 15 years the government probably will have to slash benefits or raise taxes. The finding sets the stage for President Bush to pursue his professed goal of overhauling the retirement program. " Unquote Stated before, is the idea bandied about for quite a long time to let working men and women have Social Security money to invest for themselves. Geeminently, do we have time to back up and train the upcoming generations how to invest wisely ? However in the world can an average working person profit from such a screwball notion ? When even the experts lose their shirts and shorts. One more thing, Social Security has been tinkered with for years and the only change I think necessary is to trim the damn fat off it, zealously oversight by responsible commonsense people after the fat has flown.

A subject I approach gingerly, one though that I have my opinion about. Considering that we have church organizations from every religion in the world, here in our country who have different ideas than the general run of our population. We should be very wary. To be fair to them, this proposed government mandated financial support of religious groups should give money to them for charitable purposes also. Sometimes it is obvious to me that their definition of charitable can be 180 degrees opposite to the general public opinion here. And can you imagine a Moslem working for a Christian organization ? ? ? ? ha again ! And the way it is planned those organizations will have the right to discriminate legally. Now I can understand a religous organization funded solely by congregational donations and not accepting one penny of taxpayer's money can legally do so. There is a Military Academy on our east coast who traditionally was for men only, but was forced to admit women when it was discovered the taxpayer's money was being given them also. It would be too easy in many ways to govern the expenditure of tax money to those organizations who have the same politics as the current administration. I say, in my opinion the Separation of Church and State should remain, writ in letters of fire.

That's enough Chicken Little, "The sky is falling," for tonight I guess, I am headed for the bomb shelter at NORAD. My senses have been assaulted by the ding dong stuff going on now, I am nauseated and shall go hunt a clothespin for my sensitive organ The Nose . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008