Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-07-26 - 23:08 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Dubious

Guess it will take me a day or two to think things over before I can come out and say something sensible, or at least sensible compared to what I usually say.

For tonight probably the best I can state is that I think things are in an awful mess in our country. Same mess is due to politicans and populace together I think.

It isn't easy to feel that my attack on something is not the correct way to go, and harder yet to own up to it to myself and worse yet, to others.

My day was spent in the usual mundane survival tactics. Nothing really interesting, just trying to catch up on life and e-mail.

One thing in the news today that interested me a bit was something I read in regard to Sri Lanka, or Ceylon as I learned to call it in school. I have known that there has been fighting and terrorism there for years and years. What I didn't know until I saw it in the paper today is that Sri Lanka is approximately the size of West Virginia. I know it is rich in many things, clement weather, spices, gems and timber as well as the famous tea of Ceylon.

I am not sure but I think that Sri Lanka is the island that Arthur C. Clark settled on and described as a modern day paradise.

Like some of the other countries in the world, it is rich in everything but a peaceable populace.

Maybe the last rites of the country should state that just like a motorist who knew he had the right of way, and carried that epitaph on his gravestone so might read the epitaph of Sri Lanka, "Deceased. Failure to live the right way."

Sri Lanka is not alone in things like this, some of the African countries are also rich in resources but lack the ability to steady themselves into a coherent, civil unit, lacking is peace and honesty between men and a tad of common sense. Then there are the countries which are poor in rescources and wealth, and have been fighting among themselves for years and years that should have by now learned how to live in peace and co-operation amongst themselves.

Oh well, tomorrow night, back to worrying about the stupidities and escalating disillusionment in our country.

Even if I get the right slant on things, the results that my puny efforts and loud-mouthery effecting a change here is rather Dubious . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008