Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-07-30 - 22:45 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Cool Fool

A pair again, unmatched of course -- Heather has returned. In fine spirits and with tales to tell of the new great grandchild.

Only one fly in the ointment though. The Smilin' Jack Barnstorm Airline she flew on announced a two hour departure delay, which was longer than that in the end and she hit DIA way after midnight.

Our car is in the shop, no way would she wake any of the kids to come after her. She had planned to take the shuttle van home and found out they quit running after midnight or a bit earlier. Taxi from there is an arm or leg, sometimes both. She called me and said that she thought the shuttles began to run at 7 AM and that she would hang out there till then.

About four AM she went out to the RTD spot at the passenger pickup and managed to catch a bus to the old Stapleton Airport, RTD, Park 'n' Ride lot at about 26th and Syracuse. Ever the opportunist, she was standing there at the lot, at the curb when a cab dropped someone off and she latched on to it, she made it home early for about one-fourth the price of a cab and one-half the price of a shuttle van.

When she called me she said I should go to bed and get some rest. Which I tried to do, but had a heck of a time trying to get to sleep, worrying about this little old lady, alone in the big city airport. Jeepers that lady could bring them all t heel if she decided to.

Set the alarm for the time I felt she would be home. When it sounded off, I went out to put a pot of coffee on for her arrival. Her suitcase was here already and she was in her bed asleep. She got home earlier than she figured, sacked out after checking to see if I was breathing. We both slept into the afternoon.

There are some splash pages I have seen since I have been active which are things of beauty and I loved them, some of those journals I still read and some of them I don't -- content and personaliity are high priority for me.

I've seen some discussion about Template Diaries like Diaryland. The downside I guess is they all look the same, same format etc. Which is true. But the upside is that for people like me and the people who work and have little time, it is a quick and easy way to do a diary. Some of us old duffers have no knowlege of html, and ones like me on Webtv - the complications of getting a website going on Webtv is more than I care to talk about.

For those with html knowledge, even Diaryland pages can be twitched about into an attractive format - but I hate to ask someone expert in that field to take the time to fix mine up for me. Shoot - my old Model T diary seems to hold what I have to say and has the facilities I really need.

Some day, in another life perhaps, I will have the knowledge, time and expertise as well as the energy to make a play pretty webpage.

But for now I have the room to say what I wish. A guest book, a notify list and a "previous - next" goodie. E-mail addressed to my diary comes directly to my Webtv address. So it is starkly functional, seemingly without all the trouble that computer owners have a good part of the time, and for now the MSN Webtv network is my hard drive, memory, address book, archives and a section for my favorite web pages -- as well as things like Messenger.

I have noticed that a few people pressed for time have dropped their splash pages and have gone Diaryland or some other template set up due to a lack of time to maintain their site.

Big article today in our paper on Social Security, which seems to me to be rather slanted and pushing the "Poop of the Shrubbery." I do think the media are really beating a dead horse much before it's demise, and will I think sell a good part of the public on that BS. Caveat Emptor ! ! !

So with my beloved home and both of us rested, I am one Cool Fool . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008