Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-08-04 - 15:35 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Inevitable Difference ?

Suddenly I push the stop button, the hold everything thing. Hold it ! I want to figure myself out. I have never really thought this out enough -- have understood bits and pieces here and there. Yet there is something I need to attempt to understand.

Today we went to Costco, I hanging out in the snack area spooning a bit of frozen yogurt while Heather makes her choices buggy pushing shopping. She'd rather I do that because she thinks she can do it quicker that way, and she probably can. Sitting in a favorite position, surveiling the passing scene and jotting occasionally in my 5 x 7 notebook, cobbling up an entry as it were.

As usual I am raptly noting the differences in people and guessing about them and their lives from what I see. I am not as good as a Sherlock Holmes, but attempt to use his methods of observation.

Pondering on the vast difference in people, height, weight, frame, male, female, hair color and style, eye color, shape of face, costume, stride, apparent state of health - body condition, apparent age. From what I was taught, fingerprints are as unique as snowflakes and now there is the eyescan being used as identity proof.

Peoples faces are unique - one per person - different from all others. And the expressions adorning same, unique.

Even in a common physical environment everything is different, crystals although apparently the same, each kind have their individual differences, small, but different.

Identical twins though catch my eye and spirit immediately. Usually their faces and bodies seemingly made from the same mold, eye color the same, hair color the same, their line of thought and their modes of communication the same. Often, even as teenagers they will by choice dress the same and wear their hair in the same style. I have known one set of twins in my life. I went to school with them, it was mind bending for me as one could be talking and the other twin pickup and continue the same converation without a hitch, as if a common brain was shared. Most of the time their personal feelings seemed to be the same.

Appealing to me are twin anythings, twin peaks, twin palms etc. A catamaran is a good demonstration to my mind of the human twin characteristic, but the connection is visible to the eye. Twin hulls, connected to be one unit and proceeding along the same course, which is the way that the twins I knew seemed to function.

Oh how I wish I could have been one of twins. A sibling the same age as I, one who thought along the same lines and was sensitive and sympathetic to their other twin's feelings.

Wouldn't it be wonderful if most humans had those same characteristics ? The twins I knew didn't always think as the rest of us did, they were themselves, unique to a fault. But I think the human race could certainly use a bit of the twin spirit, have sympathy, empathy and love as for a sibling in their daily life. I don't envision every person in a uniform, no zombies, no difference in concepts or feelings. Just having the thing that makes twins, twins in truth.

Why do we not allow ourselves to be separate but equal, all reaching for a common sensible goal? Could it be individuality to the extreme ? Selfishness ? Cruelty ? Or, like fingerprints, will there always be the Inevitable Difference ? . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008