Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-03-07 - 00:41:03

As the weather begins to warm a bit of thawing comes to the hills. It looks so nice, things greening up a bit on the south sides of hills, the sky so blue, warmth. Nature can be treacherous, don't mess with mamma, the ice melts away, the dirt softens and the freeze, thaw cycle that moved things through the cold weather disappears. And like a row of dominoes things can start moving due to the gravity alone.

.......................................................... Today (March 6) in the Rocky Mountain News an article told about a van of family 6 or 7 were headed up to Central City for a day of gaming I suppose. A rock about the size of a typewriter sat poised above. As the van neared the drop spot, down came the rock from above and went through the windshield, seriously injuring the driver. .......................................................... We who live here never really fear these things, there are signs along the road "Falling Rock" and we see talus at the side of the road. The evidence is there that, "Yes, rock falls." Maybe we are so macho that we think we can dodge a falling rock. Maybe some of us feel, "It can't happen to me." Sometimes it does, I was frightened once when I swerved in time to avoid a rock up there. BUT - - - - I think, none of us consider that a rock falling vertically is unseen by the driver.

.......................................................... This morning when I read the article my mind reeled. The driver ? Possibly the father of some, husband of one, son of one, etc. He was the only one injured and it worried me that maybe he was the wage earner of the group contributing to the welfare of the whole family one way or another. .......................................................... The stay in the hospital, the possible loss of his job due to disability, the chance he would be crippled for life, unable to find employment which brought in the same money. Insurance money does not last forever and any way, it is never quite enough. That money runs out before any profitable family endeavor can bring in more. I try to peer into the future of those people and worry what the cruelty of circumstance will do to them. .......................................................... The highway planners, the engineers, the equipment operators and the logistical support spend a good part of the year doing many, many things to try to ensure the safety of the motorists. But as in all things to do with the mortal conditions, there is no 100 % anything. .......................................................... It makes me realize the very fragility of humanity, and how in a split second of time can kill or tragically alter lives - forever. The expected and planned for comfortable future time ahead can become dark and grim with nothing ahead but pain and privation. I must value what I have and those around me and try to guard against unexpected catastrophes. I am only here once, so the safest way is to be careful and enjoy things while I can. ..........................................................

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008