Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-08-09 - 20:44 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Whether Or Not

Wonderful was this day. Today. Cool. Sunny. A remarkable change from the 90 and near 90 degree weather we have been having for so long.

We did a catch up day, running a bunch of running around doing little errands we didn't have the energy to do when it was so hot. Hot for us that is. And just goofing off, with pleasure.

An itinerary would be boring and meaningless, let's just say it has been a fine passage of time. The spirit of liveliness made our whole day glow. I felt like a frisky puppy, just the feeling though, I just couldn't run thirty miles for every one walked by the herding humans. Oh man, the feeling was here, in my head, my heart. Similar to the feeling when the first breath of Spring infuses happiness and optimism into our psyches.

Tonight I am in a reflective mood about changes and frequencies of same and the implications indicated. Thinking about the flip flop of mood that some of us experience, hair trigger and instantaneously going from happy to furious, serene to anxious. Changes can come slowly too, most of the time the change is so gradual that I don't really realize that it is happening to me, until musing in the evening while nursing a cuppa, coffee, tea or soda the change reveals itself to my mind.

Change seems to be the rule of the world. Everything ages, breaks down, changes form, weakens. New things emerge from those changes, good things and sometimes bad -- but a change nevertheless. One thing that I feel can improve with age besides cheese and wine is mentality and judgement. I am a dingbat but not nearly so much as I as when younger. Learning to interpret the actions of others with a bit more accuracy than before, as well as appreciation of things unnoticed before.

The definition of live I guess should include a state of constant change. It does in my book now that I think about it.

I am not really the same person I was when I awoke this morning, some things have changed, some of my thoughts and attitudes have maybe mellowed a little or have become more fixed. At times when I am thinking, the realzation that some things have changed in my life and attitude occurs to me. I will not react to things and people exactly as I did yesterday or a week ago.

And the process of change allows a hide bound person like me to hold on to feelings and precepts that I will never give up, the change being how I communicate with others and arrive at an agreement to disagree on matters which when younger I would have tried to settle with my fists.

One thing easily seen after the fact is the errors in forecasting the course of weather. Yet over the years forecasting has become more accurate, but still the unexpected can happen and often does. I see the Jet Stream shown on TV knowing that's what it is now or half hour ago, and the future movement shown on the screen is just conjecture. How they think it will come down. Somewhere in the mix are the computer models yadda, yadda. But even so, the electronic buggies are just playing a sophisticated guessing game. It only takes a tiny wiggle of the river of air aloft to drastically change the weather on the ground. In Denver, regardless of the forecast I have seen the temperature drop 60 degrees in 60 minutes other anomalies of weather behaviour can happen anytime, anywhere. Unexpected snowstorms can and do happen occasionally. All anyone can do regardless of the number of college degrees they possess is to look at the pattern of the past and make as accurate a guess as they can.

We had in years past a TV weatherman who, when his forecast for the next day had been completed it could be seen that whatever quirk the weather might develop, that man had it covered -- to the max. Leaving me wondering, what was the weather likely to do tomorrow ?

So like all things, weather is changeable, but tomorrow we'll have weather, Whether Or Not . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008